Page images
PDF
EPUB

28.

[ocr errors]

26. Gohel Sejpaljee.
27. Jhajhurseejee.

Sejukjee.--This chief founded the Gohel raj in Soorashtra.
He came from Marwar into the Punchal district in S. 1102,

and built Sejukpoor, now belonging to the Kattées. He had 29. Gohel Ranojee.-three sons, viz. the eldest Ranojee, who

built Ranpoor in S. 1201., The second Urjunjee, who established himself in Artheela, afterwards changed to Lathee. The third son Suwajee settled in Guriadhar, whence the Palitana

family 30. Mokrajee, --corxmonly called Mokra Gohel. He took

Bheemrad, and afterwards came to Dornrala; thence he conquered Wulla, and afterwards Khokra. Trikalia Coolee reigned in Perim in S. 1275. Him he killed, and took the island; thence he conqnered Gogha (Gogo); and there residing he plundered vessels as far as Tejuntooree. The Padishah's army came in consequence of this, and a bloody fight ensued, in which Mokrajee was slain. His head lies near the Khujooria Chotra (the date-tree platform) at Gogha. His body continued fighting after this for the distance of nine kos, uutil it fell at the Khndurpoor ridge-such manhood was he

endowed with. Mokra had two sons, the eldest 31. Doongurjee, -reigned in Gogha, &c.; the second son, Ses

muljee, took Rajp-epla, where his race rules to this day. 32. Weejuljee.--Weejuljee had two sons: the eldest Kuhanjee. 33. Kuhanjee,-died in battle with the Padishah's army.

Rawul Sarungjee.—His son Sarungjee was retained as hostage until the payment of the fine imposed. The second son, Ramdasjee, seated himself on the Gadee, not caring to release the heir. A Koombar* of Kooleeak was in the service of the captive prince. He placed him in a pannier, and, thus concealing him, fled with him and gave him in charge of the Munt (head) of a company of Uteets, explaining that the boy's sister was married to the Doongurpoor Rajah Rawul Jusmut Sungjee. As requested by the potter, they conveyed thither the Koourt Here Ramdasjee was reigning over Gogha. The Lathee and Guriadhar chiefs attacked him, saying they would not permit a Phutayas to reign whilst the lawful heir was captive. The Lathee chief seized the Walookur Purgunna of twelve villages, and the Guriadhar

34,

A prince. Litu, "torn off," a collateral branch.

* A potter.

chief received a bribe of Goonda and other twelve villages to keep him quiet. After a short time passing in this fashion, the Doongurpoor Rawul gave his army to Sarungjee and seated him on his Gadee at Gogha, giving him his own title of Rawul. The villages that had fallen under Lathee and Guriadhar were confirmed, but with a writing in Sarungjee's name, and held on tenure of giving him aid. Thirty-three villages were assigned to Gohel Ramdasjee, and his race are called Ghogharee;

his

grass was :-
7 villages under Ookhurda
7

Ugeealee
7

Akolalee

These villages inclusive. 12

Monpoor

[ocr errors]

33 villages.

[ocr errors]

35. Gohel Rawul Shuwdasjee.—He married the daughter of Sree

Deewar, the Chitoor Rana. He went to the assistance of his father-in-law, and fell in the battle. His wife performed

Suttee, leaving three sons36. Jetjee. 37. Ramdasjee.—He had three sons; the second, Sadooljee,

received Udhewano in grass ; the third, Bheemjee, received

Tana in ditto. 38. Suttajee,-had four sons. The second, Rawul Dewajee,

received Puchegam in grass, and his race are called Dewanee. The third son, Weerajee, received Uwanioo in grass ; his race are called Wachanee, by corruption from Weeranee. The

fourth son, Mookajee, received Nuwanioo. 39. Weesojee.--He took Seehor from the Brahmins in S. 1575. 40. Ghoonajee. 41.

Ukherajjee.

Ruttunjee.-His second son, Gowindjee, received Bhundaria, &c. (twelve villages) in grass. His race are called Gowindaree.

Hurbhumjee. 44. Ukherajjee-was a child on his father's death. ,

His uncle Gowindjee, who accompanied the Mahomedan armies, had influence enough to retain the Gadee for himself at Seehor. Ukerajjee, fearing death, fled to Bhooj. The Wachanees and Dewanees were favourable to his cause. The Nuwab of

42.

43.

Goojerat came into the country, and Gowindjee acted as chief of his army. The Nuwab became jealous of him, and caused him to be poisoned. The Wachanees broke into the palace, in order to carry off Gowindjee's son, Chutursaljee. The Khoomans, with a party of horse, had come to pay condolence on the father's death. They released the Kour, and made an arrangement by which he retained Bhundaria and twelve villages; and Ukherajjee was sent for from Bhooj, and placed on the Gadee. He had four sons. The second, Hurbhumjee, received Wurtez in grass. The third, Wujja

jee, received Thorree. The fourth son received Muglana. 45. Gohel Rutun Singjee, -was killed in the Gurer valley. 46. Bhao Singjee,-founded the city of Bhaonuggur in S. 1779,

A.D. 1723. He had five sons-
The second, Rawul Weesajee, received the Wulla Purgunna.
The third, Goyajee,

Rampoor.
The fourth, Ramdasjee,

Huliad.
The fifth,
Morbhan,

Ruttunpoor. 47. Rawul Ukherajjee. 48. Wukut Sungjee.--He took and reigned over Tullaja, Botad,

Patna, Muhoowa (i.e. Mowa), the Lathee Purgunna, Gudra,
Goondaloo, Koondla, Rajoola, and other places. He died
Phagun wud 1, S. 1872. He had three sons-
The second, Rawul Bapjee, received Rohel, &c., three villages.
The third

Thao Singjee »

Bhalwao. 49. Rawul Wujjee Singjee,—the present chief. His family is as follows:

Wujjee Singjee.

1

Nar Singjee.
Bhao Singjee.

Ukherajjee.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

No son.

Jusmut Singjee.

Ukherajjee.

Roop Singjee, is called Dajeraj.

Bhaonuggur, 25th January 1843.

ART. VII.-Description of some of the Kanheri Topes. By E.

W. West, Esq. [With a Plan and Drawings.]

Presented 10th October 1861.

AMONG the excavations at Kanheri that are rarely visited, although containing several objects of interest, is the long open gallery under the south-western brow of the cave-hill, numbered 38 on the general plan of the caves. This gallery is the first excavation that comes in sight when approaching the caves from the direction of Tulsí, as the path passes near the foot of the precipitous slope beneath the gallery, when about a mile from the Chaitya. There can be no doubt that this, and also the other galleries Nos. 39, 40, and 41, are merely artificial enlargements of natural hollows in the face of the precipice, where a stratum of soft perishable rock lies between two harder strata. The two latter, being exposed to the rain, become blackened, while the softer stratum decays into dust, and is blown away, leaving a long hollow under the brow of the hill, where the rock, being sheltered from the rain, remains of its natural yellow sandy colour. Many such hollows occur in the valleys to the north-east of the caves, some of which have been enlarged by art, but are scarcely accessible.

The only safe entrance into gallery No.38 is from above, where a path eut in the rock, and furnished with steps where necessary, traverses the lower plateau of rolling ridges, and may be approached either down the steep slope south of cave No. 55, or by keeping below the terrace-wall in front of cave No. 36, which latter cave appears to have been excavated across the original course of this rock.path, and consequently at a later date. Following this path southwards, it turns suddenly to the right over the brow of the precipice, alongside which it descends by steps (eut in a rock almost detached by a deep fissure), which are in a very broken condition, and terminate in another rock-path, leading northwards into No. 39, and southwards into No. 38.

Following the path into No. 38, we descend some steps and ascend others to the level of the floor of the gallery, and soon are sheltered by the rock above. Here occur the letters cut in the rock, forming the hack of the gallery, which constitute No. 22 of the Kanheri Inscriptions ; and the floor of the gallery, which seems covered with brickdust, is found to consist of the foundations of small brick topes buried in their own débris, and probably from 15 to 20 in number, though only 7 of them have been opened out, and marked on the accompanying plan of the gallery. Beyond these are the ruins of a large stone tope, which will be more particularly described hereafter. Behind this tope are three small chambers, containing much sculpture, but, owing to the perishable quality of the rock, it is in a very decayed state. The first chamber has a group on both sides and at the back, each consisting of a large sitting figure with attendants, two of the attendants in each group being life-size ; there is also a small sitting figure outside, between this chamber and the next, with two larger figures below. The second chamber has a sitting figure with attendants on the left wall; a standing figure with attendants on the back, and several small sitting and standing figures on the right. The third chamber has a standing figure with attendants on both side-walls (those on the left nearly obliterated), and a sitting figure with attendants on the back ; there have also been some sculptures outside this chamber. In all these chambers there are some remains of plastering and traces of painting.

Passing the large tope, the floor of the gallery suddenly rises about 14 feet to a short level, on which are the foundations of 11 small brick topes, buried in their débris ; then another rise of 3 feet to a level containing the foundations of 33 similar topes, which have been buried in their débris. These topes have been built upon a platform paved with brick, and the rock above is cut out in some places to make room for them. The brick débris, indicating further topes, extends just beyond the fourth chamber, which is semicircular, with a small rock dagob in the centre, much decayed, and a small recess at the back, about two feet above the floor-level, which is two feet below the surface of the brick débris outside. From this point, the bricks disappear for about 80 feet, the floor of the gallery beginning shortly to ascend, past another semicircular chamber, above the level of the gallery, with a small rock dagob in the centre, and an umbrella-shaped canopy cut on the ceiling; then past a dagob in bas-relief and the commencement of a cell, where the brick débris appears again, and continues for about 200 feet, no doubt covering the foundations of a row of brick topes, with a second row for some distance. The floor of the gallery then rises rapidly to the end, where there is a bench cut in the rock, commanding a fine view in the direction of Bassein. Near the end of the gallery are three recesses, with benches, from 6 to 10 feet above the level of the floor; and below the first recess are three sockets cut in the rock,

а

« PreviousContinue »