Kalidasa's Trilogy

Front Cover
Smriti Books, 2005 - 136 pages
Kalidasas Trilogy consists of three of Kalidasas poetical works: Meghadootam, Kumarasambhavam, and Raghuvamsham. The book starts by introducing his above-mentioned works. Then the three stories are presented, not as literal translation from Sanskrit, but as an adaptation in English prose highlighting the beauty of Kalidasas poetry in every step. Except for Meghadootam, which is an original tale of a Yaksha pining for his wife and sending a love message through a cloud, Kalidasa has drawn from older sources like Puranas and Ramayana for his other works. Kumarasambhavam is about Shiva and Parvati. Raghuvamsham is about a royal family, the Suryavamsha, the family of Rama of Ramayana. The purpose of this book is to bring to the readers the treasures of Indian classic literature, so they are able to understand and appreciate its beauty and are encouraged to read the original works.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information